My Top 5: Winter Reads

8 Jan

Here are 5 great books to read curled up with a blanket during these cold winter months. 

Product DetailsFaithful Place by Tana French

Modern day Ireland. Rain. Murder and mystery.  More rain.  Awesome.

Product DetailsThe Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

This book is so long that winter comes and goes several times.  It  literally spans one man’s lifetime during the very tumultuous times in 12th century England.   It’s over 1000 pages but don’t be intimidated –  you have several months until spring.

Product DetailsThe Other Boleyn Girl by Phillipa Gregory

A cold and drafty castle in England setting is a great start.  Add in a power-hungry king and several women bidding for his affections, along with the state of the country in the 16th century and you have a perfect book to get cozy with. 

Product DetailsI Know This Much is True by Wally Lamb

This is also a long book but SO Good. 

Product DetailsHarry Potter (any and all) by J.K. Rowlings 

Okay so there’s some magic and you think fantasy may not be your bag.  I am asking, no, begging you to trust me on this.   I don’t like fantasy at all and these are my favorite books.  It’s not all dragon-y or time warp-y.  And there’s a castle and lots of snow and fireplaces!  And one of the best written stories ever.  If you haven’t read them yet, now is the time.  If you have read them, it’s time to read them again.  Seriously.

 Enjoy!

2 Responses to “My Top 5: Winter Reads”

  1. Julie January 9, 2012 at 10:13 am #

    I love that you are begging me to trust you about HP. I haven’t read any of the books, nor have I seen the movies. How out of touch am I? Love, love, love Wally Lamb, but most of the other books are on my “to be read” list. Thanks for the recommendations!

    • Karen January 9, 2012 at 11:26 am #

      What? You haven’t read HP? Get to it girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

