Book Review: I, Alex Cross by James Patterson

16 Dec

I, Alex Cross (Alex Cross Series #16)My Rating:  3 out of 5 stars

I live outside of Cleveland, Ohio.  I few months ago I heard that they were filming the adaptation of this book in my area.  Tyler Perry is starring as Alex Cross and you can see some details on the filming here.  That peeked my interest so I thought I would read the book and see what Alex Cross was all about.  I knew that it was a series – James Patterson has a ton  ‘Cross’ books and the fact that it was called I, Alex Cross made me assume that it must be the ‘introduction’ book, the first of the series.  Well it’s not…it’s the 15th.  Now why would they adapt the 15th book of a series into a movie?  I’m sure they have their reasons.  You’ve probably heard of or possibly read the first 2 Alex Cross books – Along Came a Spider and Kiss the Girls.  Morgan Freeman, Ashley Judd…ring any bells?  Now it’s starting to make sense – those are ALREADY movies.  Duh.  I like things to go in order though so I’m not sure where the movies for books 3-14 are, but fine.  We’ll just skip ahead I guess.

Enough of my rambling.  This book, along with most of the Alex Cross books (and almost all of James Patterson’s novels period) was a NYTimes bestseller.  It was about as mainstream of a mystery novel as it gets.  A nice enough character and some suspense, but nothing original or anything that blew me away.  The writing is very average in my opinion.  But as I said in an earlier post, expectations are everything.  I expected the novel to be this way and it was, so I was strangely satisfied by the end.  It is solid and average.  And now I can see the movie (one of my favorite things after reading the book).

Leave a Reply

