Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

15 Dec

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar ChildrenMy Rating:  3 out of 5 stars

Expectations are everything in life, aren’t they?  I got about 25 pages into this book annoyed that this author thought we readers were so naive.  Then I realized that this is a book written for young adults.  I was expecting ‘grown up creepy’ instead of ‘tween creepy’.  Tween creepy – yawn.  Once I adjusted my expectations, my impression of the book changed and I started enjoying it.  For a minute.  And then I got so confused by the plot even though it’s a book for young adults!  Seriously, I would pay someone to explain to me what exactly is going on with this home and these peculiar children.  I won’t divulge and details here – you’ll have to read it yourself and see if you can figure it out.

So I adjusted to the PG rating and decided not ask too many questions about the paranormal aspects of the story, only to realize I was getting a Harry Potter vibe.  C’mon people! The storylines have a lot of differences, but still – teenage boy, finds out something out about himself and his family, which sends him on a journey where he meets people ‘like him’ and then decides that this is his real family.  Hmmmm….

Okay, fine.  If I set THAT aside too…I sort of liked it.  Unique in many ways and there is certainly some creepiness (even if it is PG).  I liked the pictures in the book, it was exciting at the very end and set itself up for a sequel in a big way. I will make sure I have the appropriate expectations when I go to read the sequel!

Leave a Reply

