Book Review: Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman

26 May

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman: Book CoverRating:  3.5 out of 5 Stars

What a perfect start to spring!  

I found this book so refreshing in a couple different ways.  First, the imagery is extraordinary.  The story begins in northern Ohio (really close to where I really live actually) but most of it takes place in Georgia.  The descriptions of the Savannah heat, old plantation homes with lush flower gardens, and real southern hospitality were so illustrative, I swear I actually smelled honeysuckle!   This book was refreshing to me because it was a perfect departure from the heavy books I’ve been reading.  It’s almost as if my reading choices follow the seasons, and I was ready to read something more vibrant and colorful. 

This book reminded me a bit of The Help, but really only because they take place in the same time period and area.  Saving CeeCee is told from the perspective of CeeCee herself, and she is 12 at the start of the book, which makes the overall perspective was much more innocent than that of The Help, even though there is some seriousness to the overall tone of the book.   I gave it a 3.5, though, because it was a bit boring in parts.  Not slow, per se, but there were parts where what was happening wasn’t all that interesting.

Leave a Reply

