Book Review: Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah

26 May

Firefly Lane by Kristin Hannah: CD Audiobook CoverMy Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars

An entertaining epic a lot like Beaches.  Serious nostalgia if you were a teenage girl in the 1970s.

I’ve obviously had some reading time on my hands!   This was a book I really ‘tucked in’ to, the term I use to describe me being drawn in and wrapped up in a (usually epic) novel.  I love that!   This book it spans 30 years of a friendship between two girls who meet as young teenagers.   They meet in 1974, so it was just a teensy bit before my time, but if you were a teen in this era, you will get a bonus because this book is filled with nostalgic references (ABBA, anyone?) as they grow up.  Music references are a huge part of this story. 

Here’s what I didn’t like:  I’ve already heard this story!  I’ve seen Beaches like a billion times and I  watched Lifetime movies every Saturday and Sunday through 2002 and 2003 (don’t you dare judge me!).  There was really nothing in this storyline or characters I hadn’t seen already somewhere.  And honestly, that is pretty okay with me for the most part – it was just a bit disappointing.

Leave a Reply

