32 Year-Old Kid Tested; Mother Approved

26 Apr

You know I am always trying to come up with ways to slip books and reading into everything I do, so I give a lot of books as gifts.  Mother’s Day is coming up, and I plan on getting my mom a really great book for her to lounge with this summer.  Here are my suggestions for books that would make great gifts for mom:

For the baby boomer mom:

American Wife by Curtis Sittenfeld: Book Cover

If you mom is a baby boomer, there’s a good chance she would really enjoy this story.  Even if she’s not, I still think it’s a great book.  Curtis Sittenfeld also happens to be my favorite author.  American Wife is about a woman who marries a future President of the United States (the character seems to have similarities to Laura Bush, but the author says it’s a very limited similarity) 

 For the mom who was disappointed All My Children was canceled:

 The Search by Nora Roberts: Book Cover

Nora Roberts has replaced Danielle Steele at the modern-day soap opera writer.  Her books are not particularly prophetic, but they are certainly entertaining.  This one’s about a woman trying to get one with her life after surviving an abduction by a serial killer.

For the mom who likes to keep up with the Jones’s:

 The Help by Kathryn Stockett: Book Cover

It seems that this book has been read by more women in the last year than any other book.  I would also bet that this book was discussed by more book clubs than any other book ever.   I’ve seen it at the hair salon, the grocery store, and the doctor’s office.  I’ve heard about people who’ve read it who never read.  The general opinion, mine included, is that this is just a really good book.  It’s about the wealthy/not-so-wealthy relationships in Mississippi in the 1960s. 

For the mom who likes to cry:

My Sister's Keeper

Really any Jodi Picoult book would do, but this is the one I found the most emotional.   

For the mom raised during the 1980’s:

Sweet Valley Confidential by Francine Pascal: Book Cover

Okay, this 32 year-old has not read this book…it apparently has some grammatical errors and has gotten very mixed reviews.  But c’mon, it’s still a good gift for those moms who read the Sweet Valley High books growing up (like me). 

For the mom of a future, past or present teenage girl:

Good in Bed by Jennifer Weiner: Book CoverCertain Girls

 The teenager part doesn’t come into play until Certain Girls, but Good in Bed is the prequel so I have to recommend both – a very well written and witty story about a woman who works to find love and happiness while dealing with body issues. 

For the Enlightened Mom:

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood: Book Cover

This book was made for a book discussion.  It is very deep and layered with symbolism.  It is extremely powerful and thought-provoking.  I’ll admit I had to pick it up more than once to finish it, but the payoff was amazing. 

For moms who like animals:

The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein: Book Cover

This is a heart-warming story about life told from the perspective of a golden retriever.  I am not an animal person, so I felt out of the loop at times, but I think it’s a great selection for someone who has had a pet.

 For a Great-Grand Mom:

The Beach House by Jane Green: Book Cover

The word innocuous comes to mind.  No sweaty sex scenes, mild language, light content (although adult), about a mature woman’s second chance at love.  It’s a perfect book to give an elder without feeling like you’re tarnishing her good name (or yours). 

If none of these describe the mother you buy for, drop me a note and we’ll come up with something she will love!

Leave a Reply

