Hunger Games Movie Deets

8 Apr

Wow, has it been a month already?!  Time really flies, doesn’t it?  In my last post, I showed you who they were thinking of to play the lead role of Katniss in the Hunger Games movie.  Well since then, not only have they finalized the selection for Katniss, they have also finalized the selection for the Peeta and Gale Characters as well:

Katniss Everdeen  is to be played by Jennifer Lawrence.  She’s really only become popular in the last year – she was nominated for her role in The Winter’s Bone.

Jennifer Lawrence Katniss

Gale is to be played by Liam Hemsworth.  I’ve only seen him in that movie with Miley Cyrus called The Last Song

Liam Hemsworth Gale

And last but not least, Peeta will be played by this guy:  Josh Hutcherson, and I honestly have never seen him before.  A quick search on IMDB tells me he really hasn’t been in much – Journey to the Center of the Earth with Brendan Fraser is about as big as it gets.

 

Here’s what else I know:  The release date is March 2012 and this first movie will only reflect the first book called The Hunger Games.  I have also read that Lionsgate and the director want this to be rated PG-13, which basically means they plan to ‘mature it up’ a bit to appeal to an older teen crowd (I’m guessing like Twilight).  The book was solidly PG, definitely not PG-13.  The diehard THG lovers are disappointed in this direction because it seems very ‘Hollywood’ (read: greedy and shallow).  We’ll see I guess.  I am anxious to see who else is cast as we get close to production which is due to start late summer.  Stay tuned!

4 Responses to “Hunger Games Movie Deets”

  1. Karen May 17, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Here’s some good news…Haymitch was cast and it’s Woody Harrelson! I think that’s a great one. I love Woody Harrelson.

  2. Ellie May 16, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    UGH!!! I AM SO FING PISSED RIGHT NOW!!! JENNIFER LAWERNCE is KATNISS, LIAM HEMSWORTH is GALE, & JOSH HUTCHERSON is PEETA!!! ALL WRONG PEOPLE FOR THE CAST!!! SUZANNE COLLINS SHOULD HAVE CHOSEN THE CAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!>:[[[[[[ UGH!!!!!!!!! THEY ARE NOT RIGHT FOR THE ROLES!! and btw Josh Hutcherson was in Bridge to Terribithia too and something else with a dog in it but idk what it is called…

  3. Julie April 11, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    I now have these actors in my mind as I read Catching Fire. Interesting to see who will play these roles.

    • Ellie May 16, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

      i am sorry but do not imagine these people for the roles. they are not what katniss, gale, or peeta are described as at all!!! and it upsets me to death!!:[[[

Leave a Reply

