The Help Needs Some Help!

26 Feb

That was the best title I could come up with, sorry – it’s sort of cheesy.  Anyways, I was led to the following article by one of my online reading buddies.

The Help by Kathyrn Stockett is an extremely popular book on the reading circuit. You can read my review of it here.  There is also a movie in the works that I believe is due to be out sometime later this year.  

The article explains that the author is being accused of stealing the premise of the book from someone – her brother’s nanny.  I have to say that it seems awfully suspicious.  If it does turn out to be true, I will be heart-sick that we’ve given an author accolades she didn’t deserve. 

Here is the entire article.

2 Responses to “The Help Needs Some Help!”

  1. julie February 27, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    I read this article yesterday. There are just so many “coincidences” in the similarities between the real-life person and the fictional character. Like you, I hope that it’s not true. What bothers me most (if this is true) is that the author was asked NOT to use her as a character.

    I don’t know if we’ll ever get (in the words of Paul Harvey) “the rest of the story.”

    • Karen March 2, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      I know, right?

Leave a Reply

