Frustration

26 Dec

I’ve been playing with my nook literally since I posted my last blog entry.  And guess what?  I’ve been able to do nothing with it.  NOTHING.  Any interaction with the Barnes & Noble website from my nook fails.  This includes looking for eBooks, downloading free samples, buying one, etc.  Basically everything.  I tried to buy a book from the web directly on the computer, and the b&n website is so slow, I gave up.  I checked my WiFi, and it is set up and working properly.  I managed to work my way to the nook blog on b&n.com and it appears I’m not the only one having this issue – it’s being attributed to the number of people trying to register and use their nook after having received it as a gift yesterday.  Grrrr…

6:36 pm Update.  I’ve successfully purchased an eBook from my nook.  Except that I get a file not found error when I try to download it. 

7:06 Update.  I was able to download my eBook to my nook.   When I attempt to read it I get an error that says Sorry, unable to open this book.   Oh my gosh I’m going to throw this thing out the window.

7:15 Update.  Website is displaying a “Server is too Busy” message. 

8:03 Update.  I managed to get a book onto my nook.  I had to connect it to my laptop via USB, delete the first downloaded copy of it and re-download it from the website.  When I opened it I discovered that the chapters are off by one.  WTH?  I chose a .99 version of the book instead of a 1.99 one.  I thought the difference was an included reader’s guide, so maybe I have shoddy eBook publishing?  Additionally, there are no chapters outlined at all, which makes it difficult for me to know if something is a Forward or an Introduction or what.  Not sure what to do next…

9:32 Update.  I GIVE UP!  For tonight anyways.

2 Responses to “Frustration”

  1. Karen December 28, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    I think it was an isolated incident. I gave it another try last night and had absolutely no issues with the website or using my nook. Yay!

  2. SZ December 27, 2010 at 2:00 pm #

    I can’t help but wonder if this could be an isolated incident. I know several people with Nooks (including myself) and haven’t heard of anybody having a similar experience, nor have I. I wonder if it may be helpful to contact Barnes & Noble to see if there’s an underlying issue. I really don’t think that this is a common fault of the Nook. I hope it gets resolved for you so that you can enjoy all that it has to offer.

Leave a Reply

