Library, you have let me down! No e-Reader for me!

24 Aug

This is how I feel right now:

You won’t like me when I get angry

You may have seen my post on my choice of e-Book reader (the Barnes and Noble nook).  After my husband read my post, he thought that the nook would make a great birthday present for me and since I’m doing all of my airplane traveling this year before my birthday, I should just order it now.  Yay! I went to my library’s website to check out some e-Books so I could start reading immediately once I got my new nook.   My process is always to borrow first, then buy the book if it’s worthy of being added to my long-term library.  I planned to use my nook for my ‘first reads’ and borrow them from my library.  When I went to my library’s site, however, I was astonished to find that none (okay, 1) of the books I’m reading or about to start have an e-Book format I can borrow: 

  1. The Passage- EPUB available
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale – No Library
  3. The Shallows – No library
  4. The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox- No library
  5. Packing for Mars – No library

So I looked up the last 5 books I’ve read and the statistics were even worse:

  1. Last Night at Chateau Marmont – No library
  2. The Great Stink – No library
  3. Catching Fire – No library
  4. Never Let Me Go – No library
  5. Heart of the Matter – No library

I want an e-Book Reader so badly, but I cannot justify purchasing it if I cannot use my library as I do today.  I read at least a book a week.  At $10.00 a pop, that would be at least $520.00/year on books with none of it used to expanding my physical library at all – every book I have would be digital! 

This stinks!!!

And also, I am wondering why the library is so limited its collection.  Will this change?  I certainly hope so. 

Stinky! Stinky!  <Stomping Feet>

3 Responses to “Library, you have let me down! No e-Reader for me!”

  1. aileen August 25, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    yeah, all the audio e-books i borrow here in denver are older. many of them you have to put on hold to receive also.
    netflix is the same with watch now movies, although they are working to change that. hopefully the popularity of e-books will demand change.
    perhaps there is an online service where you can pay a minimal monthly fee and download new books temporarily. (shit, just gave away the million dollar idea)

    • Karen August 25, 2010 at 11:56 am #

      LOL. Nice one.

  2. Kevin Mattingly August 25, 2010 at 8:03 am #

    I used to download audiobooks from the library to listen to on my Nano, and I was always surprised by the scarcity of new(er) books. So I feel your Hulk-ing pain.

    BTW: loved your post about the different e-readers.

Leave a Reply

