Book Review: Last Night At Chateau Marmont by Lauren Weisberger

23 Aug

Abandoned on page 135…

C’mon people, I just want to finish a book!  This book became available for me at the library late last week, and even though I have 3 books I’m already in the middle of and one I need to start, I added this one to the mix because I was absolutely in the mood for something light and fun. 

I firmly believe that I am a NYC girl trapped in a midwestern girl’s body.  I love the pace, diversity and culture that makes New York City so precious and if my life’s circumstances were anything but what they are, I’m sure NYC would be a perfect place for me to call home. I, therefore, thoroughly enjoy the ‘chick lit’ NYC fiction that Candace Bushnell made so popular with Sex and the City and it’s just what I needed to break up the heaviness of the other books on my plate.  While Bushnell is obviously one of the best of her kind, I think Lauren Weisberger is a close second.  She has 3 other books, The Devil Wears PradaEveryone Worth Knowing and Chasing Harry Winston.  I’ve read all three and while they didn’t change my life, they were well written and very entertaining.  So that’s what I was expecting from Weisberger’s latest novel.  But I got none of that.  All I got was BORED! 

I knew reading the book jacket that the story was going to be predictable.  But predictable doesn’t always mean bad, or even boring.  Interesting characters with a unique perspective on life along with a well-paced book can make a wrung-out plot compelling.  And because Weisberger has a history of being a good author, I had higher hopes for this book even given the plot.  But the characters are completely lame – I didn’t like Brook and didn’t really feel bad when (here’s the predictable part) her husband doesn’t deal with the enticements of super stardom as maturely as she wants him to.  And he’s not that great of a catch to begin with – they show that he can’t stand up to his parents he just lets them insult him repeatedly.  When he doesn’t see what he’s doing to her and how he’s alienating her (also predictable) – I wasn’t all that surprised nor did I care that much.  The book also seemed to need a bit more editing – like it wasn’t quite polished enough. 

I might be getting slightly oversaturated with novels and plots and my expectations might be getting a little steep -I suppose it makes sense that if I read 1-2 books a week, I would develop a need for something new and fresh to keep me entertained.  I wonder, though, if my feelings and the feelings of a more casual (read: less obessive reader)  might like this book more than I did.  Glancing at the reviews on Amazon, it certainly appears that someone is liking this book – it’s getting a lot of 4 and 5 stars.  So while this is my review and I thought the book stunk, I am willing to believe that maybe I’m starting to be a pretty harsh critic.

4 Responses to “Book Review: Last Night At Chateau Marmont by Lauren Weisberger”

  1. Coffee and a Book Chick August 24, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Every now and again, we deserve to read a light and fluffy book and that is okay! 🙂 I go to Sophie Kinsella when I need a break from everything heavy! This one looks like a fun one — and I love NYC! I’m from the East Coast and went to NYC more than I probably should have while in college, too…but, oh well! New York, Washington DC, Baltimore, Boston…I love my East Coast!!

    • Karen August 24, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

      I know, I know – I love my fluff too – this one was just didn’t do it for me though. Kinsella is a great idea, actually! I’ve only read one of her books!

      • Coffee and a Book Chick August 31, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

        You should totally read Sophie Kinsella — it’s always a quick read and exactly what you need to have a little break from all the normal reading and also have some fun! I’ve read a couple of her books, and I really enjoyed Remember Me — I have to post this synopsis for you, I read it recently and really enjoyed it: When twenty-eight-year-old Lexi Smart wakes up in a London hospital, she’s in for a big surprise. Her teeth are perfect. Her body is toned. Her handbag is Vuitton. Having survived a car accident in a Mercedes no less Lexi has lost a big chunk of her memory, three years to be exact, and she s about to find out just how much things have changed. Somehow Lexi went from a twenty-five-year-old working girl to a corporate big shot with a sleek new loft, a personal assistant, a carb-free diet, and a set of glamorous new friends. And who is this gorgeous husband who also happens to be a multimillionaire?

        Doesn’t that sound great?!?!

      • Karen September 7, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

        Ooh, That sounds really great! I’m so behind in my TBR pile that my head is spinning but I am putting this on the list so I can get to it. Thanks so much for this suggestion!

Leave a comment