Book Review: The Help by Kathryn Stockett

11 Aug

 Rating:  4 out of 5 stars

Who will like it best:  Women 20+

Words to describe it:   Satisfying, Enlightening, Touching

Will I add it to my personal library?  Yes, for lending

Will I read it again someday? No

The Help has been on the Hardcover Fiction Bestseller list for 70 weeks and will be available in paperback in January 2011.  Filming of the movie version of this book began this summer and it is scheduled for release in summer 2011.

I read this book several months ago but given its popularity I thought it would be good to add it to my reviews. Because it has been a while I’m going to keep this short and sweet since I have forgotten some details. 

Synopsis

This book focuses on the lives of 3 women living in Mississippi in 1962.  One is Skeeter, a recent college graduate back home on her parents’ plantation, Aibileen, a black maid working for a wealthy white family, and Minny, who is Aibileen’s best friend and also a maid.  The story is about how the three of them work together to shine a light on racism in a very risky way.

 My Review

This book is fun to read and it gives the reader an intimate view into these women’s lives (both black and white) during the 1960’s in the South, which is a distinctive and interesting topic.  There are funny parts and sad parts, but the book is overall very uplifting even though the subject matter is somewhat sensitive.  Upon reflecting on this book I thought things got a little carried away at the end, but while I was reading it I was caught up in the story and believed in these women and the conclusion.  I think women in particular will  identify with the risky and line-crossing situations these characters find themselves in.

2 Responses to “Book Review: The Help by Kathryn Stockett”

  1. cantputitdown August 11, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    I really enjoy the way that you review. Very succinct and gives me a quick glance as to whether I would enjoy the book or not. This book…I think I will add to my list of must reads. Thanks.

    • Karen August 12, 2010 at 9:17 am #

      This is great news! I was just messing with this new format for a review to cut down on the time it takes to both read and write! I’m so excited to get some positive feedback! Thank you!!!!

Leave a Reply

