The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest (Millennium Trilogy #3) by Steig Larsson

20 Jul

Rating:  4.5 out of 5 stars

I thought this entire trilogy was well worth reading.  It was a very unique plot that unfolded nicely across the 3 books – I loved that our view of the characters, particularly Lisbeth, changed so much from the first book to the last.  The middle book was just okay in my opinion, serving it’s purpose by providing a bridge between the first and last but not being as strong as either plot-wise.   I find this is really common with ‘middles’ of a series.  I liked the setting (Sweden) and the raw translation from Swedish to English.   The writing style was also unique, focusing on details that subtly framed the characters but seemed to have no place in the description (lots of making sandwiches, making coffee, taking showers, etc.).  Actually, The New Yorker wrote an article commenting on this exact thing earlier this month!  It was sort of annoying but those mundane details somehow worked for me in these books.

I had a lot of trouble with the names they are all very similar and difficult to keep track of.  Fortunately, the characters are so dissimilar that the context usually allowed you to keep up.  I also have to say that I completely forgot about Neidermann at the end and didn’t see that coming a mile away!

Lastly, the author died before any of these books were published.  What a shame – I’d like to think he would be so proud to have his work become so popular and respected.

One Response to “The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest (Millennium Trilogy #3) by Steig Larsson”

  1. Katie August 2, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    I had the same issue following the names of the characters!

    But I actually think the 2nd book was my favorite. It seemed to move the fastest for me. Great series, for sure. Wish we could look forward to more from him!

Leave a Reply

